Department of Computer Engineering
University of A Coruña
English Spanish Galician

The Department of Computer Engineering belongs to the Faculty of Informatics at the University of A Coruña, Spain.

Research groups are:

Grupo Arquitectura de Computadores
Grupo GTEC
Management team:

Director: Luis Castedo Ribas.

Secretary: Gabriel Rodríguez Álvarez.

Department of Computer Engineering
Campus de Elviña s/n
15071 A Coruña, Spain

e-mail: dpto.enxenaria.computadores(at)
Teléfono: (+34) 881 011 282
Fax: (+34) 981 167 000

GPS: 43°19'58.59"N 8°24'39.39"O (
How to get here ( (Spanish only)

The Department of Computer Engineering of the University of A Coruña (UDC) was established on March 29, 1990 (in that moment denominated "Electronic and Systems", founding letter) when the Faculty of Informatics was still an University School that offered computer undergraduate studies. The Department is located in the building of the Faculty of Informatics in the Elviña Campus since its construction in 1993. Previously it was located in other buildings belonging to other degree programs in the Zapateira Campus.

Since its establishment, its Chairs have been the following professors:

  • - Javier Díaz Bruguera, 1/5/1990-24/9/1990
  • - José María Domínguez Legaspi, 25/9/1990-10/6/1999
  • - Ramón Doallo Biempica, 11/6/1999-11/11/2003
  • - Luis Castedo Ribas, 12/11/2003-17/3/2009
  • - Juan Touriño Domínguez, 18/3/2009-10/4/2013
  • - Carlos José Escudero Cascón, 11/4/2013-17/1/2016
  • - Luis Castedo Ribas, 18/1/2016-27/3/2016
  • - María José Martín Santamaría, 28/3/2016-10/05/2021
  • - Luis Castedo Ribas, 11/5/2021-current

In september of 2009 the first retirements of the department took place by the professors José María Domínguez Legaspi and Manuel Paradela López. The first one was appointed Honorary Professor just after his retirement, maintaining relationship with the Department.

In the context of the restructuring process of the departments performed by the UDC in 2016, the Department Council held on October 14, 2016 unanimously approved the change of name of the Department ("Electronics and Systems") to its current name: "Computer Engineering", to better reflect the teaching and research reality of the Department. This change became effective on April 6, 2017.