The Department of Computer Engineering of the University of A Coruña (UDC) was established on March 29, 1990 (in that moment denominated "Electronic and Systems", see the foundation announcement) when the Faculty of Informatics was still an University School that offered computer undergraduate studies. The Departament is located in the building of the Faculty of Informatics in the Elviña Campus since its construction in 1993. Previously it was located in other buildings belonging to other degree programs in the Zapateira Campus.

Since its establishment, its Chairs have been the following professors:

  • - Javier Díaz Bruguera, 1/5/1990-24/9/1990
  • - José María Domínguez Legaspi, 25/9/1990-10/6/1999
  • - Ramón Doallo Biempica, 11/6/1999-11/11/2003
  • - Luis Castedo Ribas, 12/11/2003-17/3/2009
  • - Juan Touriño Domínguez, 18/3/2009-10/4/2013
  • - Carlos José Escudero Cascón, 11/4/2013-17/1/2016
  • - Luis Castedo Ribas, 18/1/2016-27/3/2016
  • - María José Martín Santamaría, 28/3/2016-current

In September 2009 the first retirements of the departament took place by the professors José María Domínguez Legaspi and Manuel Paradela López. The first one was appointed Honorary Professor just after his retirement, maintaining relationship with the Departament.

In the context of the restructuring process of the departments performed by the UDC in 2016, the Department Council held on October 14, 2016 unanimously approved the change of name of the Department ("Electronics and Systems") to its current name: "Computer Engineering", to better reflect the teaching and research reality of the Department. This change became effective on April 6, 2017.